Powder, Primers, Etc. Locally

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Robhic

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 7, 2011
    Destrehan, LA
    OK, I admit I am new to reloading. New, as in, using a "Lee Loader Classic" doing one at a time. I am not a bulk loader. That said, the unit was $27 on Amazon so it's not a huge investment - more like something to do, save some $$$ and be a hobby. But looking at 'splosive stuff online and it carries a $20-30 HazMat surcharge. I don't wanna pay $40 for $20 of gunpowder! So where is a good place(s) to obtain these items locally? I live in Destrehan so Kenner, Metairie, New Orleans (if I have to...) would work. I guess any place within $20 of gas/travel would be good.

What about Cabela's? Or Academy Sports? I've never looked before so never noticed if they carried reloading supplies. The loader isn't here, yet. Should be in 1-2 days and then a gun show at Ponchartrain Center October 22-23 I thought I'd check. Anybody that has a local(ish) source for this stuff would be appreciated. Thanks!

Sig220

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 22, 2014
    Bridge City,TX
    There maybe something closer, but my vote goes to Louisiana Gun. in Baton Rouge. Give them a call at 225-389-6077 (sponser here) and let them know what you need. They got water in the recent flood, and recently opened up again!