Looking for advice on a 7 SAUM hunting rig

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HogHunter1203

Premium Member
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 16, 2012
    SWLA
    Going on a backcountry elk hunt in a wilderness area of southern WY in October and decided to use the opportunity to go forward with a custom hunting rifle I've been dreaming of for about 5+ yrs now. I've already decided on the new Bighorn SR3 action as a base, and I'm pretty well set on a Bartlein #3 contour 1:8.7 twist barrel to launch some 180 VLD hunters.

I'm looking for advice on barrel length. I'd like to find a sweet spot between weight savings and maximum velocity, and understand it to be somewhere between 24-26". If anyone has chrony data or personal experience with the cartridge, I'd appreciate the input.

Thanks,
    Hog

Barney88PDC

SEND IT
    Rating - 100%
    34   0   0
    Jul 16, 2008
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    If you want to run the 180 then get a LONG action. The 7SAUM in a short action is too short to mag feed a 180 if seated properly and is maxed out with about the 168 grain bullets. Sure you can load a 180 in a short action but in order for them to fit in the mag the bullet is going to be so deep in the case that you are using up the room where gun powder should be. Hence, you are not going to see the benefits of the 180 in a Short action because you will not be able to get them up to speed.