Do's and Don'ts Tips for first time seller?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Steve Chance

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 21, 2017
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Hi guys,

I need to sell a hand gun and someone said to use the classified forum here. I realize this is not the section for posting a "WTS" add, I just need some tips from guys with experience. I'm a newbie to selling (anything) to someone based on an internet ad, and I REALLY DON'T WANT TO GET SCREWED.

I'm thinking I should sell locally (rather than shipping), I should meet them in a safe place, and only take cash. I'm also thinking I should ask to see their license so that I know that they're at least 21 years old, and I feel like I should use my phone to take a picture of the license, in case the gun is used in a crime the next day and traced back to me.

I'd appreciate any advice you have, especially regarding what qualifies as a "safe place" to conduct the transaction.

Thanks!!
    Steve

Fugum

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 8, 2015
    Metairie
    I'd definitely meet in a public place and cash is always king. I'd have no problem showing my license and completing a bill of sale but I'd have a problem with letting you take a pic of my license.

snipehunter7

Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Dec 31, 2016
    Franklinton, LA
    You're on the right track - public place where you feel comfortable, check their ID (agree with Fugum that a picture is too much to ask and unnecessary) and do a BOS if you want, cash (inspect it to make sure it's real).