Building an AR in 6.5 Creedmoor

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • whbonney26

Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Nov 2, 2008
    Pearl River, LA
    I have been hanging onto a lower for a few years now that I was going to build a .308 or 6.5 Creedmoor with. I have decided to go with the 6.5. Its been several years since I have built any AR-15 rifles and never one on the
    AR-10 platform. I am not sure who all the new players are on the market as far as parts go.

Would love any pointers in the direction of websites that offer good AR10 platform parts such as LPK, Barrels, triggers, stocks etc.

Thanks.

thperez1972

ESSAYONS
    Staff member
    Gold Member
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 28, 2015
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I did a little looking before I built my first AR10 platform rifle. As I understand it, they are not as standardized as the AR15 platform. The AR10 has 3 "standards", Armalite, DPMS High, and DPMS Low. The High vs Low has to do with the height if the rail, if I remember correctly. So the rail on a high hand guard will not meet up with a low upper. And a DPMS upper or lower will not work with an Armalite lower or upper. IIRC, the Armalite pattern is a little more angled while the DPMS is a little curved. My AR10 is 90% Aero Precision. I wanted to get a matching upper and lower to make sure they fit together and just decided to keep going with them throughout the build.

Here's a site that may have some useful information:

https://308ar.com/ar-10-308-ar-compatibility-reference-guide/