Best budget AR?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Gus McCrae

No sir, I ain't.
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 25, 2009
    Colorado
    I'm thinking about buying my first AR (maybe). As far as a basic, reliable AR with iron sights, what would you recommend?

I'm not looking for fancy, just a gun that will do it's job. Don't want a bunch of features.

obryap

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2015
    Paulina, LA
    Don't know what your budget is, but I went with the Ruger AR-556 for around $650. I am not an AR expert, but have been happy with my decision.

MOTOR51

Rating - 100%
    72   0   0
    Dec 23, 2008
    here
    They just had a S&W new for $449 on sale somewhere. I’ll see if I can find it

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

thperez1972

ESSAYONS
    Staff member
    Gold Member
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Dec 28, 2015
    Baton Rouge, LA
    People have varying opinions on Palmetto State Armory but they're going to be about as no frills as you can get. I have a couple of their bcg's, an upper, and a lower. I've never had any issues with they. They're not fancy but they have performed so far when I've needed them to. You said you wanted something reliable but you didn't say what the use would be. The use could determine how "budget" you may want to go. With all that being said, PSA has a couple things on sale.

$279 for a "bring your own lower."

or

$219 for and upper and $129 for a lower.

noob

enthusiast
    Silver Member
    Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    New Orleans