How long are CCP's taking to get?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Coyote5.0

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 4, 2016
    Prairieville
    I went through a class. Was fingerprinted at LSP. My payment was accepted in early December. Still nothing. How long are CCP's taking?

krotsman

Rating - 100%
    104   0   0
    Aug 2, 2012
    Baton Rouge
    On a related question, can you trade in your lifetime for a 5 year. Didn't realize, when I got it, that a 5 year was good for gun purchases. I'm a veteran, so it's free now anyway. Anyone know if they'd let me swap it?

krotsman

Rating - 100%
    104   0   0
    Aug 2, 2012
    Baton Rouge
    On a related question, can you trade in your lifetime for a 5 year. Didn't realize, when I got it, that a 5 year was good for gun purchases. I'm a veteran, so it's free now anyway. Anyone know if they'd let me swap it?

Called LSP and they said nope, so... question answered.

- - - Updated - - -

Also, while I was waiting, the recording said 60+ days for processing

rcm192

Sic semper tyrannis
    Staff member
    Rating - 100%
    111   0   0
    May 31, 2010
    New Orleans area

You can still use a lifetime permit for purchases. It has to be no older than 5 years at the time of purchase....if it was any older then you didnt renew with a refresher course and then your permit would be not valid with lsp anyway.

This happens to a lot of people. They think...oh I have a lifetime Im golden and then they forget to take a renew class and send in a renewal app to the state.