A Summary of 2020 Gun Legislation in Louisiana

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RaleighReloader

Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Jan 30, 2015
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I finally had some time to sit down and read through the bills introduced for Louisiana's 2020 Legislative session. Here's a summary of what I found. Keep in mind that I'm not a lawyer, and while I do my best to imitate one, I'm only convincing part of the time. So, YMMV, and please let me know if you arrive at a different conclusion. I'm not too proud to admit my mistakes.

I also added in whether I think we should support the bill, oppose it, or the jury is still out.

House Bill 56 (support): This is essentially constitutional carry. As long as you're at least 21 years old and not otherwise prohibited from owning and possessing a firearm, you can conceal without a permit. Permits would still be issued. See HB686.

House Bill 72 (support): Another constitutional carry bill. This doesn't have the 21 year old provision, but it does stipulate that "The firearm was not illegally manufactured or obtained by the person." See HB686.

House Bill 139 (support): Someone that breaks the law prior to their 17th birthday is subject to "special juvenile procedures." This bill would add "aggravated battery committed with a firearm" to the list of offenses that would allow the courts to pursue more conventional juvenile procedures. This is already done for things like murder and such, but I'd love for one of the Louisiana lawyers here to chime in.