AR-15 Barrel Swap

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DAVE_M

_________
    Rating - 100%
    32   0   0
    Apr 17, 2009
    ________
    I picked up a Rosco 10.5" barrel pre-pandemic and decided to swap out the 10.3" BA Hanson barrel that was previously installed. There is nothing wrong with the BA barrel, but I've been wanting to test this Rosco barrel out and didn't want to bother sourcing parts right now. I'm not an expert and don't claim to be one. I learn from my mistakes and don't mind passing along info if can prevent anyone else from making the same mistakes I did. For the sake of documentation and discussion, what is shown is a way and not the way. To accomplish this fairly simple task, I used a myriad of tools, such as:

Bench Vise
    Torque Wrench (ft/lbs)
    Torque Wrench (in/lbs)
    Midwest Industries URR
    Wheeler Clamshell Upper Vise Block
    BCM KMR Barrel Nut Wrench
    FCD JMW (Joint Muzzle device Wrench)
    T-Handle Bit Driver
    Various Bits (Torx and Hex)
    Wood Burner with Pointed Tip
    Roll Pin Holder Punch
    Assorted Pin Punches
    Polymer Grooved Vise Jaws
    Double Sided Mallet
    Loctite 271
    Loctite 243
    Aeroshell 64
    Cleaner/Degreaser
    Otis Cleaning Brushes

Prior to disassembling the upper receiver, when the barrel had originally arrived, I checked headspace with a good bolt. Using a bolt vise and punch makes disassembling and assembling the ejector very easy. With the ejector and extractor removed, I can then check the barrel with a .223 GO, 5.56 GO, .223 NO GO, and FIELD (Maximum) gauge.