New to shotguns I have a question

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gulfdiver

Rating - 92.3%
    12   1   0
    Sep 22, 2007
    I have an 870 wingmaster I believe it holds 4 2 3/4 12 gauge shells, Do they make extensions?
    What if the shell tube extends out past the end of the muzzle an inch or two?
    Is that good or bad?
    The barrel what cut down to 18.5 inches?

LACamper

oldbie
    Premium Member
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 3, 2007
    Metairie, LA
    I like the wilson/scattergun Technologies extensions. Extensions are easy to add but some 870's have two nubs inside the mag tube at the front end. Unscrew your endcap and check. If so they have to be ground off. Not hard to do with a dremel.

You could cut your barrel, but I'd advise against it. You'd still have to have the bead remounted. Spend a few bucks and buy a shorter one. I picked up a 19" (with night sights!) used at FITS in Slidell for under $40.

spanky

Gold Member
    Rating - 100%
    141   0   0
    Sep 12, 2006
    Gonzales, LA
    You can EASILY find an 18.5" barrel for ~100, much less if you shop.

Take off your magazine cap and feel inside, if you have 2 dimples they ahve to be removed/ground down/etc, to get the extension tube to work. there is a thread on arfcom with instructions on how to remove them but it's a royal pita, imo, and i just bought a second one instead of modifying the one i had :o

Richard in LA

Mag Whore
    Rating - 100%
    109   0   0
    May 19, 2007
    St. Amant, LA