.45acp reloading help

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • angrycookieman

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 27, 2009
    Central Louisiana near Pitkin
    Hey guys, I'm new to reloading and am having some issues trying to reload .45acp. The first issue is that with jacketed bullets, when I try to set the bullet on the case with little or even no flare it will easily fall down too far into the case once it starts to move. With my bayou bullets I could seat them properly because they are slightly tighter. The other issue is that the hornady new dimension die set I have does not put a taper crimp on at all, it's just a roll crimp. I thought this would be ok because they will be used in a revolver, but the bullets will not go far enough into the chamber. The last 1/4 or so of the brass is too fat.
    Is it possible that my decapper/sizer die is not doing it's job, causing both issues? I can get a taper crimp die if I need to for the crimp, but what are your suggestions on the case looseness when seating bullets? Thanks!

dmiculek

Rating - 100%
    34   0   0
    Oct 1, 2006
    Gramercy
    Make sure you are sizing the entire case. The die should nearly contact the shell plate/shell holder. Add just enough flare to case mouth to accept the bullet into the case so that it does not shave the bullet during the seating process.

jmcrawf1

Rating - 100%
    70   0   0
    Jan 20, 2008
    Madisonville