Huh ? House Bill 520 ?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • swampjockey

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 1, 2013
    Cut Off, LA
    Found this in the Times picayune online this morning. Did I miss something here or perhaps I just don't have enough caffeine in my system yet, or perhaps a typo ? House Bill 520, Ivey: Would protect concealed carry permit holders over the age of 21 from prosecution for carrying their weapons in a concealed manner. :rolleyes:

dougstump

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 22, 2010
    x
    First, I'm not a lawyer. Second, I didn't stay at Motel 6 last night.

As I read it, the bill will eliminate concealed handgun permits. Any Louisiana resident that is over 21 and is not otherwise prohibited could legally carry a concealed handgun.

tim9lives

Tim9
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 12, 2010
    New Orleans
    I don't understand it either. Just read the original bill a couple of times....I don't get it.
    ==============
    HLS 14RS-997 ORIGINAL
    Page 1 of 2
    CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words underscored
    are additions.
    Regular Session, 2014
    HOUSE BILL NO. 520
    BY REPRESENTATIVE IVEY
    WEAPONS/FIREARMS: Excludes carrying a concealed handgun from the crime of illegal
    carrying of weapons for certain persons
    1 AN ACT
    2 To enact R.S. 14:95(L), relative to the illegal carrying of weapons; to exempt certain
    3 Louisiana residents from the crime of illegal carrying of weapons if the firearm is a