My first complete M14 build from scratch

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • geeck

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    SE Louisiana
    I've done builds from barreled actions with the bolt headspace already. This is my first build completely from scratch. I mounted the barrel, lapped and headspaced the bolt. The M14 is quite a bit different than building a poodle shooter.

This one has a 762mm firearms receiver, Medium weight barrel, TRW bolt, HR Trigger Group, a "Big Red" stock I got at the CMP North Store and most of the rest of the "pieces parts" are NOS USGI except the Sadlak NM Oprod spring guide, Hand-guard, and the Oprod.

If the function check shots are any indication, this one, is going to be a shooter. Looking to take her out on a proper outing soon.

wmmw.jpg

wmmw2.jpg

wmmw3.jpg

geeck

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    SE Louisiana
    wow, congrats.. that is one on the bucket list.. for me..

Yeah building them is fun and like a layaway plan. You buy a little here and a little there next thing it adds up to a real rifle. Caution left over spares as small as a trigger pin have been known to grown into a full size rifle. :) At some point I'll probably need an intervention :)

dzelenka

D.R. 1827; HM; P100x3
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 2, 2008
    Covington
    If you are looking for a proper outing, the Bayou State Regional is April 16 and 17th at Palo Alto. Regional match is Saturday and EIC match is on Sunday. If you can only make one day, come Sunday. We can always use more bodies.

Dan

geeck

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0