Need Info On Mossberg Brownies

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • FloridaFialaFan

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I've been researching these little guys for nearly three years now. My findings have been published in Mossberg collector newsletters and on Mossy web sites. But I need MORE INFO.

So far I've only had data on less than 100 of these guns furnished to me. Oscar made approximately 32,000 during its 13 year production period. Considered the "Founding Father" of the O.F. Mossberg & Sons Co. which is still a family affair today.

These neat little .22rf, 4-barrel pistols were made from 1919 to 1932. What I need from Brownie owners is just a few items of info about the gun. Please bear with me, here is alit of what I need.

There are only 3 Variations known, and I need to learn exactly what patent info is stamped on the right side of the barrels. Also, I need the serial number of the gun, there are six known locations the number (or perhaps on the last digits of it) may be found: bottom of the grip (or inside on the frame under the right grip); down near the hinge (when gun is broken open); under the little "ears" on the front end of the Barrel Release Lever on top of the gun; and inside each metal side plate on the older guns.

I'd also like to know if it still has its ORIGINAL dark-walnut ridged grips, and if its ORIGINAL Extractor Rod is still in the little well on top of the gun, left side. This flat metal piece fits down in behind the left grip.

Below is a photo of one of my Brownies to refer to.