New Reloader In Need of Guidance for 45 ACP

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mlapor3

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 27, 2009
    Gonzales
    Gentlemen,

I'm somewhat new to reloading. I recently acquired a Dillon 550 and I'm trying to load 45 ACP. My components are, once fired brass, CCI 300 Large Pistol Primers, Bayou Bullets 230 gr LRN, and Unique powder. I have a Lyman 49th ed. manual that I bought and read before I got into this but it does not have any load data for a 230 gr LRN bullet with Unique powder. I checked Alliant Powder's website and the only thing they say is to use 5.8 gr and start off 10% below that.

Can anyone suggest a good load for this powder/bullet combo with Min/Max powder and OAL?

Also, can anyone suggest a method to gaining more precision with the 550's powder throws? I was testing out powder throws last night and they would be anywhere from 5.44 to 5.64 gr and not consistent enough for me to really trust what powder weight it was distributing. Should I have cleaned the powder bar before attempting to load with it?

Thanks in advance.

sksshooter

Rating - 100%
    50   0   0
    Jul 28, 2008
    Walker, LA
    My .02 first thing first go out and pick yourself up a couple more loading manuals. Multiple reference points are always a plus and other manuals may have the bullet style and powder combination you are looking for.