New Guy from BTR/P'ville..and asking advice

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • YellowChevy

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Aug 3, 2010
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Hey guys,
    I've been lurking for about a month now and thought I should introduce myself. I am 26 years old and currently living & working in the BR area. I am a Service Writer/Manager at TNT Performance on Airline Hwy. We specialize in repair & performance of light duty diesel trucks. I graduated from St Amant in 02 and then graduated from LSU with a BS in Management in 2005.

I currently own a XD .40, various hunting shotguns & rifles, and just purchased a Doublestar M4. The AR is totally new to me and I can already tell a bunch of you guys know your stuff regarding these weapons. I hope to learn from you guys and make some friends along the way.

And this is where the newbie asks for advice...
    I have always been interested in the LE/military line of jobs. I feel like I have the drive & talent to succeed in the profession. I am looking at joining the National Guard. I took the ASVAB last night and (without bragging) did well on it. The recuiter told me that I qualified for just about any job I wanted. This will sound cliche, but I want a "cool" job. Something exciting and that many people do not get a chance to do. For example: helicopter pilot, military intelligence, fly an UAV, special forces. Does anyone have experience in these fields and can tell me the pros or cons?