Advantage Group Gear Thread

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • goteron

Unity Tactical
    Dec 8, 2009
    Houma, LA
    I had a few questions at the last class on some of the gear I used / owned. I thought I might post up some info. I am not an expert on any of this stuff. I have tried it, and owned quite a lot of gear, this is what works for me. Do your own research, don't use something just because someone else does. I am a low speed civilian. There is so much gear out there, it would make your head spin.

I would suggest identifying your needs and going from there. Truthfully I don't "Need" the majority of these things, but as a prepared civilian... I own them anyway.

I prefer to use the lightest / lowest profile gear I can. I try not to wear things to training that I wouldnt be wearing on any given day. Getting all "operator" for a class does me no good if I only put those things on for classes. I like being able to move quickly without gear flopping around or getting caught on everything in sight.

Clothes

• Pants - Vertx Mens Pant - Low profile, only 2 sunk in cargo pockets. Fits great, articulated knees and gusseted crotch. Cheaper and lighter / lower profile than Crye / Arcteryx.
    • Shirt - I prefer athletic wicking shirts, nothing "Tactical" as I wouldnt wear that normally
    • Shoes - Inov8 195s. Super light, I wear these everyday
    • Kneepads - Arcteryx Kneecaps - I just started using these. I believe they are the best deal going. Very small and light.