AR build help

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • hot shot

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Sep 13, 2006
    Prairieville La
    Im just getting started building my first AR. I picked up a lower with a LPK in it. ordered some magazines last night, looks like ill be picking up a stock assembly from a friend. fortunatly the finances for the build are coming quicker than expected, unfortunatly from what I understand finding an upper, or upper half is damn near impossible right now, so that will slow me down im sure.

what I need help with is......Im totally ignorant to how to put all the parts together. im sure it will be half ass self explanitory, but would appreciate any advice/tips I can get.

Also, what (if any) special tools will I need, and where can I come across them (just to borrow, or to buy cheap)

thanks

Richard in LA

Mag Whore
    Rating - 100%
    109   0   0
    May 19, 2007
    St. Amant, LA
    Hot Shot, if you are not in a hurry to get your lower together, I can possibly help you next week sometime. You dont really need any special tools other than a wrench for tightening the Castle nut for adjustable stocks. Roll pin punches are nice, but not necessary. The one thing that I recommend is buying a 1/4" clevis pin for aiding in installation of the front pivot pin detent and spring.
    AdjClevisPins.jpg

the tools found in any basic "man-cave" should suffice for assembling a stripped lower. A few punches, a couple pairs of vise grips, some electrical tape, a screwdriver or allen wrench (depending on the type of your pistol grip screw), and thats about it.