ATF beginning to investigate group buys of firearms

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • meplatgroup

Louisiana's #1 NFA Dealer
    Industry Partner
    Jun 6, 2012
    Metairie, La.
    Gentlemen,

I have no first hand knowledge of this situation, but there is a board that I'm on (it's restricted to FFL holders) where this has become a topic of discussion.

There is one report of the ATF investigating a group buy organizer here:

http://www.northeastshooters.com/vbulletin/general-discussion/211422-neser-needs-your-help.html#post3249038

The ATF has stated in a bulletin here on page 6that:

Individuals who engage in the business of brokering firearms by buying firearms from a manufacturer, selling those firearms to a licensed third person, and then arranging with the manufacturer to have the firearms dropped shipped to the purchaser, are required to obtain a Federal firearms license.

Basically, what they are saying is that if you are the guy that collects the money for the group buy, you MUST have a FFL even if you never see the guns. Therefore, I recommend that either 1) everyone send their money straight to the manufacturer/dealer selling the firearms, or 2) the group buys be organized through a FFL who will collect all of the money.

I'm not trying to rain on anyone's parade or discourage group buys---I think they are great. I use the same concept when setting up my deals of the week. I just don't want to see anyone get in trouble.

Please be cognizant of the ATF's position on this moving forward.

Best,
    Kenny

Cheesy Lasagna

Sooooo Cheesy!
    Staff member