can i give my 16 year old niece a handgun?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sloppy joe

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 15, 2011
    she drives now. she can shoot. is it legal for me to give her a handgun to keep in the car with her father's permission?

DAVE_M

_________
    Rating - 100%
    32   0   0
    Apr 17, 2009
    ________
    but can she have her father's handgun alone in the car?

The answer is yes.

See below.

I am an attorney, although I no longer actively practice law, and I am not your attorney. But, the simple answer is "yes". A handgun in a car is NOT on her person, so it is not prohibited. And the exception clearly applies, so if she wanted to carry on her person, she could do so with permission from her parent, etc.

No, your car is NOT an extension of your home. (I think that was said as a joke, but people still seriously believe that)

No, you may not carry concealed without a CHP, even in your car or your home.

With all due respect, people do not help in these threads by just saying stuff. If you don't know the answer, it's really best to not say anything.

§95.8. Illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile

A. It is unlawful for any person who has not attained the age of eighteen years knowingly to possess any handgun on his person. Any person possessing any handgun in violation of this Section commits the offense of illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile.

B.(1) On a first conviction, the offender shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars and imprisoned for not less than ninety days and not more than six months.