Decisions decisions......

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BayouDeputy

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 27, 2010
    Plaquemine, La
    Ive been reloading for about 10 years now. I currently am using a RCBS Pro 2000 Progressive press. I know Dillion is considered to be the "King" of progressive presses and have decided to go ahead and purchase one. I am currently torn between the 550B and XL650. Is there any other differences between the auto indexing and extra cost of the 650 vs the 550? Any help will be much appreciated.

Last edited:

kcinnick

Training Ferrous Metal
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Dec 24, 2008
    Baton Rouge
    I won't reload without auto index for pistol ammunition. I don't have time to reload much as it is now, and it is a breeze to fly through a few hundred rounds on the 650. I couldn't imagine adding a case, adding a bullet, indexing without screwing up every now and then.

BayouDeputy

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 27, 2010
    Plaquemine, La
    After talking with a buddy of mine that has used Dillon 550's for over 10 years I think im going to go with the 550. Hopefully I'll have the order placed on Wednesday.

kcinnick

Training Ferrous Metal
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Dec 24, 2008
    Baton Rouge
    Yeah, I have done all of those things. But it's not a major deal. The only Major ordeal I had was when primer got turned sideways in my priming system and the machine wouldn't index, but that only happened once. I had to take the primer system apart and pull out the sideways primer.