fiberglass resin

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JetMech

Displaced Yankee
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 8, 2010
    Shreveport
    No the water will still enter the grain of the wood. Then all you would have is rotten wood with flaking resin. I would use a good wood sealer that is designed for wood. I work on composites for a living and you would not believe the damage a little moisture will do.

MyTFAL

"It's no big deal,...."
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Jun 2, 2008
    Abita Springs
    I'll have to check with my glassman, but I have sealed wood using resin many times. It requires multiple coats, but unless the resin barrier is broken or you miss spots it will completely seal the wood. The fibers add strength but are not required to block water intrusion. If it is intended to be submersed it is possible to get water intrusion ala osmotic blistering thats where gel coat and paints are required.

Epoxy coated wood works well also...What is the application?

Last edited:

jetmech1983

*Banned*
    Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    May 21, 2009
    Watson, la
    I'll have to check with my glassman, but I have sealed wood using resin many times. It requires multiple coats, but unless the resin barrier is broken or you miss spots it will completely seal the wood. The fibers add strength but are not required to block water intrusion. If it is intended to be submersed it is possible to get water intrusion ala osmotic blistering thats where gel coat and paints are required.

Epoxy coated wood works well also...What is the application?