J Frame Pistol Question

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • crewdawg

F-15 Eagle Crew Chief
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 3, 2009
    Amite, LA
    I have heard about J Frame pistols before, but being a noob, I have no idea what it means. What does the term J Frame mean?

I have also heard about K Frame also. What is the difference, and is there any other "Frames" out there that I should know about? Thanks:confused:

dwr461

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 23, 2009
    Baton Rouge
    A revolver frame is the portion that hold the revolver's mechanism and at least part of the hand grip usually. The cylinder, barrel, sights, etc all attach to the frame.

Manufacturers have different sized frames. Think like small, medium and large. So each frame type has to have a name. They're given a letter designation because a frame isn't caliber specific. The large frame "N" sized S&W for example is chambered for 44 magnum, 10mm auto, 45 acp to name just a few. But the frame is the same size for each. A K frame S&W is a Model 10 size. I guess I'd call it a medium. The model 10 for example is 38 special with cylinder that holds six rounds. A J frame is a small frame. The cylinder holds five 38 special rounds. Smaller frame so it must have a smaller cylinder. This is an over simplification but gets you a basic understanding.

Remember each manufacturer assigns it's own designation. I.E. a J frame S&W and a J frame Colt are very different animals.

Dave

Pookie

*Banned*
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 3, 2009