Lint / dirt / anything ever get in your carry gun?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mini14

Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Dec 18, 2008
    New Orleans
    Hey guys,

I'm new to the carrying concept. I want to get my paperwork squared away later, but I just got a pocket gun and I'm wondering (only in regard to handguns):

1. What kind of problems do you guys get with dirt, crumbs, lint, etc. getting into the gun?
    2. Where does the dirt enter?
    3. How often do you clean these guns because of this?
    4. Police officers: Do you get problems like this with your duty holstered weapons?
    5. Do you get these problems with guns in other places:
    a. under car seat, b. under bed, c. boat, d. other... ?

I'm just trying to figure this out because I only clean my home shotgun once every few months and I have nothing to compare to a "carry gun". I want an idea of what to expect.

Thanks

-mini14

deafdave3

*Banned*
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Apr 26, 2010
    I pocket carry a Walther/Manurhin PP, so its a big gun for pocket carry. Before I got the pocket holster, I had the problem of lint getting into the action between the barrel and slide, on the muzzle end. Lint would also get into the trigger area. I usually had to clean it every other day, sometimes every day. Since I got the pocket holster, I don't have any more problems.

Yrdawg

*Banned*
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 24, 2006
    Big Woods
    I carry a 26 , usually inside belt but outside pants cause I'm not buying bigger pants