New rifle, need suggestions and also help with Co-Witness, sight choices, etc...

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bassicpackrat

Dopplebock Slayer
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Feb 20, 2011
    Opelousas,LA 70570
    Guys, I'm new to the AR genre, and have a Windham flattop receiver model with no front or rear sights at all which currently has a UTG illuminated crosshair (green to red) scope on it . This is how I bought it and I am considering my options right now. While I don't see myself running the gauntlet in competition with it or needing to clear a house SWAT style, I do like the idea of the weapon being setup in a way where it is flexible and can be used for range shooting as well as up close home self defense as well.
    I have heard the term co-witness multiple times and want to find out accurately what it defines. My assumption is that it means having a peep or rear iron sight that matches up along with/in conjunction with a red dot or halo optic and confirms or backs up the fact that the primary optic is on point. Is this correct or am I way off base on this?