Out of state resident taking getting LA CCW?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 15, 2008
    New Orleans, Lafayette, and SC
    I am a resident of South Carolina at the moment, but in a year and 2 months I will be 21. If I remember correctly, I can take the CCW course up to a year in advance before applying for it, meaning that in a few months I would be elligible to take the class. I am a South Carolina resident, but I go to school and am in LA for the majority of my time. Would it be best to get an out of state LA CCW? Also, do I have to take the class in South Carolina, or is it possible to take it here in Louisiana?

Thanks,

Stephen

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 15, 2008
    Hmm, I thought LA did. Well, scratch that idea then. Looks like I will be getting one in SC then.

One more question though, In the future, I plan on changing my residency back to LA, how long would I have to wait until I could apply for an LA CCW?

charlie12

Not a Fed.
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Apr 21, 2008
    Pride
    Hmm, I thought LA did. Well, scratch that idea then. Looks like I will be getting one in SC then.

One more question though, In the future, I plan on changing my residency back to LA, how long would I have to wait until I could apply for an LA CCW?

Q. How long do I have to live in Louisiana before I am eligible for a permit?

A. You must reside in Louisiana for six months prior to submitting your application.

[L.R.S. 40:1379.3 (C) (3)]

LouisianaCarry

Tactibilly
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 14, 2007
    Keithville