Registering a new firearm?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • onelochevy

XD 45
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Feb 15, 2009
    Slidell
    I'm new to gun ownership...I purchased my first gun(Springfield XD .45) this past Saturday. Is there any type of registration process I have to complete to comply with state and fed. laws? Or do I just need to keep my purchase receipt in a safe place? Sorry if this is a dumb question, I just want to be sure all of my bases are covered.

Thanks.

aroundlsu

Bayou Photo Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Dec 21, 2007
    Baton Rouge
    No gun registration in Louisiana for most firearms.

The only firearms that require registration in Louisiana are silencers, short barrel rifles, machine guns, and other exotic weaponry.

XD-GEM

XD-GEM
    Premium Member
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jun 8, 2008
    New Orleans
    However, if you travel through New Orleans, I'd recommend keeping a xerox of the sales receipt in your wallet. NOPD likes to ask for "proof of ownership" even though their not supposed to do that.

onelochevy

XD 45
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Feb 15, 2009
    Slidell
    Also, how does it work if I was to sell my gun. As of now, if the police trace the serial # won't my name show up? How do you go about getting the ownership transferred?

Speedlace

LOL...right?
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 23, 2007
    So you can buy and sell as you please without registration?
    In Louisiana, yes.