Sig 556 - Anyone have one?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • aroundlsu

Bayou Photo Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Dec 21, 2007
    Baton Rouge
    Ok, let me start off by saying I have zero AR15 experience and little knowledge but I'm in the market for a new weapon system and that's where I would like to head. The only rifle I have now in my collection is an ancient Russian SKS.

Basically, I would like a high powered rifle I can attach a light and red dot/holo sight to. I want 100% reliability, easy maintenance, and the ability to SBR it and attach a suppressor at some point in the future.

I'm been looking at Olympic Arms and Bushmasters around town but was thinking about something a bit more modern than a straight AR15 clone.. I would love an HK 416 but obviously that isn't happening until HK is ready with the civilian version in a few years. I seriously considered a Beretta storm in 9mm or .45 but while I love the price I'm not crazy about the fixed stock or using a pistol round in a serious rifle.

So that lead me to the Sig 556.
    29p3mgz.jpg

What do you real AR15 guys think? Anyone have one in Baton Rouge? What else could I get for the same price? I'm looking to spend about $2k on a complete rifle package.

CajunTim

Premium CoonAss Member
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Oct 19, 2006
    Mandeville, LA
    Ok, let me start off by saying I have zero AR15 experience and little knowledge but I'm in the market for a new weapon system and that's where I would like to head. The only rifle I have now in my collection is an ancient Russian SKS.