Small game in Tangi/St. Tammany WMAs

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Royst

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 7, 2013
    Slidell
    My neighbor is a WF agent here in St Tammany. He told me that the squirrel population in Honey Island has not yet recouped from Isaac yet. I would love to find a spot to take my granddaughter this year. If you hear of anything please let me know.

dglough

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Sep 27, 2012
    Mandeville, LA
    I am fairly new to hunting and have scouted and hunted Lake Ramsey with a .17HMR. I have seen a few on the south side of the WMA but haven't shot much of anything. This really is my first season trying to get into hunting though and I haven't had any sort of mentor so take my experience for what its worth.

A WF agent that I spoke to a few weeks back said that hunting pressure is almost non-existent on Lake Ramsey and he was glad to see me out there. Dunno if the lack of hunting is because it is mostly a savannah terrain or because there isn't game. I have seen rabbit, raccoon, deer and what is probably coyote scat everywhere. I doubt it is the latter. I just need to figure out how to hunt. haha.

Refineryop

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2014
    Holden, LA
    I am fairly new to hunting and have scouted and hunted Lake Ramsey with a .17HMR. I have seen a few on the south side of the WMA but haven't shot much of anything. This really is my first season trying to get into hunting though and I haven't had any sort of mentor so take my experience for what its worth.