AR questions

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • LACamper

oldbie
    Premium Member
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 3, 2007
    Metairie, LA
    I'm new to the AR system, so please excuse the newbie questions. plus I'm still waiting for my lower to come in, so...

I'm thinking of changing the front sight to a gas block w/ a picatinny as well as eventually replacing the front handguard. Its got the old A frame front sight and plastic round handguards now.

I can take the pins out the A frame (gas tube and 2 lower) but then how do you remove the sight? Will it pass over the birdcage or do I need to remove that first?

I'm assuming once I do that the handguards will seperate leaving the barrel nut and gas tube. I want a freefloat tube on it. I like the YMH freefloat but I'm not committed. I don't really need 3 or 4 rails. I'd like a short one up front at the bottom for a light eventually, but that's all I really need. I'm doing this more for accuracy, so any freefloat will work.

I have a low power scope (kronus 1.5 - 5) mounted in low rings that I plan on mounting. Will the picatinny gas block and folding front sight be low enough to not see them? Or should I just buy a set of high rings and leave the A frame sight and round plastic handguards?

Comments, thoughts?

rockmup

Please be my friend
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   0
    Apr 21, 2007
    City of Central
    Yes , you need to remove the birdcage first. Then the pins. Then tap it to the front. Use a soft hammer. Then the rest will come off.

Is this on your new 20" ?