Firing a handgun inside a car.

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Cochise

is not here
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 19, 2012
    Calhoun
    As a taxi driver, I am naturally concerned about being robbed on the job. I'm saving up for a new carry piece and it has got me thinking about the realities of firing a handgun inside of a vehicle, if such an extreme situation should ever occur.

Hearing loss would be almost guaranteed, right? Obviously, I can't wear hearing protection at work, so do you guys have any advice?

What would be your choice for the "quietest" round, one with the most mellow rapport? Low power 45acp, subsonic 9, something else?

madwabbit

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 2, 2013
    Lafayette, LA
    when you fire a gun inside a car, its deafening.

consider your position: drivers seat, firing over your shoulder? Windows up on a hot day? you'll be deaf and ringing for hours at best.

Did it once because I had to, so being deaf the rest of the afternoon was irrelevant.

Hitman

® ™
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Sep 4, 2008
    Lake Charles
    ANY sufficient Handgun Caliber inside a vehicle will be temporarily deafening.

A small price to pay for potentially saving your life.

You are correct about the level of noise inside a vehicle when shooting. It's violently loud.

However, which round you choose to guard your life with should have no bearing on how loud it is.

I would focus more on actually firing a gun inside a car(Training) via our find Sponsors
    than worrying about which round is lower on the decibel scale.

mike84z28