What up with a Mini 14?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • snot rod

Hot Rodder Extraordinair
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 5, 2008
    St. Amant
    I am a noob to the site and noob to guns...I might have to get me a few here shortly...new pres elect :rolleyes:

I would like some input on a Mini 14.

thanks,

Richard in LA

Mag Whore
    Rating - 100%
    109   0   0
    May 19, 2007
    St. Amant, LA
    I am a noob to the site and noob to guns...I might have to get me a few here shortly...new pres elect :rolleyes:

I would like some input on a Mini 14.

thanks,
    Welcome to the site!

Mini 14's are nice little rifles, based on the M14/Garand, and scaled down. (hence the name Mini 14) They are not known for their accuracy, and be sure to use the factory magazines that are now available directly from Ruger for @ $30 each.

I'll go ahead and be the first to say it, since I know others will be along thinking the same. Why not an AR 15, one can be had for not much more, and there are tons of accessories for it, and mags are cheaper and more abundant?

Top Kek

Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Sep 12, 2006
    nola
    old roommate had one.

picky on mags and didn't seem to be the most accurate for the price but it felt rugged and the new models have sight/barrel improvements IIRC.

snot rod

Hot Rodder Extraordinair
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 5, 2008
    St. Amant